My “Natural” medicine cabinet

The following is a list that I am currently taking as either a supplement for my overall health, or specifically to help me on my endo healing journey.

Morning:

  • Phil Richards Alkalising salts – 1 scoop in filtered water 30 min before breakfast (fresh lemon and a tsp of bicarbonate of soda will do the same)

With breakfast:

  • Vitamin B complex / Vitamin D3 / Zinc – these 3 in particular are what we are stripped of when taking  synthetic hormones
  • a good fish oil from well sourced, mercury free fish (anti inflammatory and essential for hormone production)
  • Sea Kelp (Iodine and nurtients)
  • Calcium D glucarate (D glucarate is extremely good for the liver)
  • Schizandra berries – (also extremely good for the liver and stress)

Afternoon:

  • Lilly of the Desert Aloe Vera juice 2 tablespoons in filtered water  (great for the gut and inflammation)
  • 1 x Vitex (a.k.a. agnus cactus/chasteberry) (hormone balance)

Evening:

  • Phil Richards Collagen formula – full of CoQ10 and MSM.
  • L Glutamine – 1 scoop of each in a glass of filtered water before bed.  (essential for gut and muscle repair)

Everything else I get from my the foods I eat.

Also lying around in my cabinet are the following:

  • Liquid chlorophyll – full of green goodness – but I dont take this a lot as I get iodine from the sea kelp and my green veggies.
  • milk thistle – I tend to only really take these in the morning after I have had a fair bit of alcohol.  I did take these every day but replaced them with schizandra berries.
  • NAC – I sometimes switch between this and L Glutamine before bed for a mix up (both very good amino acids that help with repair and recovery)

Superfood wise I have a good supply of the following that just usually get thrown into smoothies: (not all at once!) 🙂

  • Maca root powder – (***I have now switched to Vitex for a bit, I have stopped using this for a while as they are both hormone balancing)
  • raw honey
  • turmeric
  • bee pollen
  • raw cacao
  • spirulina powder
  • hemp protein powder
  • virgin coconut oil
  • chia seeds
  • flax seeds

Notes:

The Calcium D Glucarate, schizandra and Aloe vera juice were all recommended to me by Melissa @ http://www.cureendometriosis.com, she is an inspiration to everyone that is suffering from this condition and her site is well worth a look.

The Vitex I intend to only be taking for a month or 2 to help get these pesky neck spots under control whilst my body is going haywire.

To be honest I think this list is still in excess and I even would hazard a guess that if I went to a naturopath they may condense this list a little, however, when I think about the amount of artifiial drugs and potions that the hospital want to give you, its actually quite a good alternative which I feel is working for me…. what I remember, is for many years my body has been depleted of its micronurtients and its not an overnight fix to get it back to full health.

I am sure my supplements will change again as the healing process evolves… watch this space…

 

What do you think, have you had any experiences with the above? I’d love to hear from you!

 

One thought on “My “Natural” medicine cabinet

  1. […] My humble advice would be to try to give yourself a foundation for an easier transition out of “hibernation” by massively increasing your good fats, cutting out refined sugars and carbs and eating more veggies than you know what to do with!  I would also recommend you take a good vitamin supplement to replenish your reserve tank and continue to do this for the proceeding months as you transition –  if your hormones are as sensitive as mine seem to be then believe me you will be grateful for it.  You can have a look at my medicine cabinet here: […]

    Like

Leave a comment